thatswhatevesaid: about chocolate factories and conformity

Have you lost your sense of wonder?

 I know within the past year, I did…

In fact, up to this point I didn’t realize it was gone.

 

When I was a child, one of my favorite movies was Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (none of that 2005, Johnny Depp nonsense). My favorite part wasn’t the kids,the golden ticket, the factory, or the infamous girl who turns into a giant blueberry, but rather the concept of free thinking, childish wonder, and…pure imagination.

In life, especially in the earlier years, we are encouraged to conform in society.  We comply in such ways by decorating our lives with respectable education and incomes, a few dashes of logical thought, a tattoo that reads ‘being realistic’, and a cup of normality at the dawn of every day. The result of this progression makes us a little more experienced, responsible and developed.

Don’t get me wrong – I totally want all of that. There’s a familiarity and consistency that comes with conformity.  I hear it’s safe and warm there too.

I realized a short time ago, that one of my greatest fears is losing my sense of wonder or imagination. This fear presented itself about a month ago; it occurred to me that I was simply just, ‘fitting in’, and doing what was expected and advised. You could say I was down-playing a side of myself and doing what people were telling me to do.

What a harsh reality it is when you realize how far-gone you really are! I had lost myself for a second.  Myself and her sense of wonder, I mean.

This may not make a lot of sense, but isn’t that why they call it an imagination? See! I’ve got it back! I’m not making any sense! HA.

But more importantly, as I continue to grow and evolve into myself, I’m going to promise not to lose that spark of pure imagination ever again! I don’t know about you but, my T.V. views in color, not black and white, I refuse to be on the straight and narrow, and the sky is not a limit.  I’m going to live the rest of my life through metaphors and fluffy language…

Or maybe in my imagination. 

 
image

Leave a Reply

