thatswhatevesaid: Love in 50 shades or less

I’m not usually one to feel so strongly about the plethora of hues, tones, tints, and shades of ‘Grey,’ but this paint palette box-office-blow-out-film reminded me of why it is so vital, as a Christian, to keep God in the forefront of my life. Though 50 Shades of Grey is just a movie, it struck me how much my connection with God can be damaged by giving into some of the world’s simplest ‘pleasures.’ It is only by God that I seek purity and good in my life; especially in my spiritual and romantic relationships.

All 50 shades of it.

As I have pursued and nurtured my own connection with God, I’ve realized that the purest form of love is through Him.  To keep this connection strong, I must be able to recognize the things of this world that can taint and cause spiritual anguish. Thus, I will have to continually guard myself from these things, and keep my faith in check (God’s like, duh).

Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people. —Ephesians 5:1-3

Out of the love that I have for God and the value that I hold for my own soul, I will be staying far away from any sorts of ‘Grey.’ Grey will simply be, just grey and not a 49th shade more. For this reason, I’m so proud of myself for consciously guarding my spiritual well-being, and mindfully living in a Christ-like way.

23 Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. 24 Put away perversity from your mouth; keep corrupt talk far from your lips. 25 Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you. 26 Make level paths for your feet and take only ways that are firm. 27 Do not swerve to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil. —Proverbs 4:23-27

And for the sake of Valentine’s Day…

The most beautiful thing about the Christian faith is that it is anchored and defined by love.  Jesus Christ, sent by God the Father, represents the mortal archetype of perfect and everlasting love that God deeply feels for his creation.  The idea that Christ laid down his own life for the wrongdoings of humanity is in its truest form, the most wonderful and epic demonstrations of love that will ever be. **roll the credits and cue the music**

In short, God loves you, me, him, and her far too much to be compromised by the impurities of the world. There will be trials and obstacles everywhere in life…

Even in those grey areas.

IMG_0112-0

Leave a Reply

