The Incredible Voice of God

“I tried to discover, in the rumor of forests and waves, words that other men could not hear, and I picked up my ears to listen to the revelation of their harmony.” 

          – Gustav Flaubert

Recently, I went to a class about hearing God. Through this class, I was able to learn about the nature and character of God, how we can experience God in different ways, and the revealing truth that God speaks to each and every one of us — equally and gracefully. The kicker is to actually lean in and listen.

After all this I feel like I have been spiritually set on fire; blazing with enlightenment and the gracious truth that God has been speaking to me my entire life.  I’ve been taking credit for the subtle whispers, the ones I knew I heard and blatantly ignored.  The exhilarating feeling of enchantment that I feel through a single sound of music, and the brilliant enthusiasm that I have over the simplest of things; a smile or something ordinary that I found way too funny. I believe, one time or another, I experienced the gentle remarks of the holy spirit.

  Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21

With that being said, I feel it is quite simple to hear anything when you are consciously tuned-in. In my own experience, I believe He can be heard through thoughts, or physically through emotional response.  The ways God speaks to us remains true to the time before and the time today; God spoke directly to Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, Joseph, in his dreams, Noah, through nature, angels, the Bible, and miraculously, even a donkey (because humans are too main stream).

This learning experience has been divinely eye-opening.  The richest part is that, as life goes on I’ll become better at noticing the masterful words or feelings that provide such wisdom and the true well-springs of life.

How powerful, how pure, and how incredible it is to experience and hear God.

I’m all ears.

Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:9

Leave a comment