For the Love of God…and Ribs

I’ll start where God started,

In the beginning, Genesis chapter 1, starts with the design of heaven and earth; God creates light and darkness, known as day and night — the ground with livestock and wild animals, known as land — and the waters of the sea, which he populated with fish and other forms of life.

By verse 26, he crafts the creation of mankind and designs the first generation of people.

This is the first account of all creation; the mighty hand of the Sovereign Lord forming the beginning of everything.

The awesomeness continues in Genesis 2:18, 21-24 (NIV)

18 The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

21 So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs[a] and then closed up the place with flesh. 22 Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib[b] he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.

23 The man said,

“This is now bone of my bones
    and flesh of my flesh;
she shall be called ‘woman,’
    for she was taken out of man.”

24 “That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.” 

The lovely idea of ‘oneness’ and joined union to another human being is highly satisfying and pleasing to the heart; although love and relationships are absolutely wonderful, there is something to be said on why it is imperative to become ‘suitable’ within yourself before you are for someone else. In simpler terms, woman was basically a ‘prime’ rib for man; she was formed specifically because she was right for him.

After all, when God created man, he instructed him to do a lot of ground work (literally) before (his) woman ever existed.

When I think of my own relationship, my source of joy is not only from the man that I share it with, but in fact by the God that created him.  The active presence of Jesus within myself and the relationship itself, is what ultimately creates such unity between the one I love, but also the God that I loved first. If I had wavering faith in God and myself, I wouldn’t be able to handle the responsibility of such grand blessings.

 Like creation, it all started with God. 

 I know the whole “rib-from-a-man-forming-a-woman-and-being-one” is a thousand times, to the tenth power, uber romantic but, if I had not decided to give my life to God, my feelings towards my relationship would have been very different.

29  “But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.” Deuteronomy 4:29 (NIV)

The idea of starting this blog was to intentionally gratify God and develop as a woman of God.  The radical changes that have taken place, have shown that there is work being done within me, and my life.  I have gained more satisfaction in Jesus and myself; and I’ve had more clarity and joy than I could have ever imagined.

I’m delighted at the blessings of growth, love, and pure faith that are evident in my life today. I will continually seek my creator.

I want to be a ‘prime’ rib.

12 I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart;
    I will glorify your name forever. Psalms 86:12 (NIV)

INAUGURAL GOWN // amazing work from from @Katie Schmeltzer Schmeltzer Rodgers

Leave a comment